30 Things Before 30


Taking my cue from Thoughts Appear – giving credit where credit is due – I’m submitting this list because A) It will help me Get Over the inevitable and crushing reality that I am actually getting older and will possibly not live forever and have all the time in the world to do all those Crazy Important Things that I want to do B) I like making lists – at least when it’s for a worthy cause C) I like crossing things off lists – 30 then being an awesome figure with loads of crossing to be done.

I have two years, three months and 30 days to go. Tick, tock, tock, tick.

  • Pet a lion
  • Plant a tree
  • Direct
  • Climb a mountain
  • Learn Italian
  • Start a business
  • Go on a wine tasting trip
  • Plan a party
  • Write a play
  • Sew a dress
  • Swim with sharks
  • Paint a picture good enough to hang on my wall
  • Make up a chocolate cake recipe
  • Go river rafting
  • Watch all the classic movies on my Other List
  • Invest
  • Steep my own Christmas candles
  • Become more time-efficient
  • Cook a Moroccan dish
  • Wear red
  • Visit Monkey World (UK)
  • Study
  • Go to the opera at least four times
  • Learn Quickstep
  • Donate blood
  • Buy a professional HD camera
  • Stop biting my nails
  • Read the collective works of Shakespeare
  • See the Northern lights
  • Jump out of an airplane

I wonder how many I’ll be able to cross out this year.

(2010-08-29 — Yup, still wondering.)

(2010-09-22 — Well, at least there is some movement.)

~ by mescribe on August 9, 2010.

5 Responses to “30 Things Before 30”

  1. I love lists, too, and the feeling of accomplishment when I cross something off.

    I caught part of Shark Week on the Discovery channel a few days ago and remembered that you said that would be on your list. Some guy went to an aquarium and fed sharks under water and not in a cage!

    Good for you on donating blood! I hate needles and tend to pass out, but I think that’s a really cool one.

    • Oh, yes, what would life be without list-making? Dull, dull, dull, I tell you. Oh, but I want to swim with Great Whites, they’re my scariest fobia of all and I just want to, you know, have a tete-a-tete and overcome it. And as much as I do want to confront my fears I do feel that thick, thick steel-bars between me and them will do me a world of good (when avoiding the heart-attack scenario.) 🙂

      Been meaning to donate blood for over a year now. Want to get a move on. Passing out is no good, though. I’ll donate a little extra for your sake. Though I’m in Sweden so it might not actually help you, but it’s the thought that counts, right?

      All my best.

  2. […] I can’t believe I’m actually two years away from the big 3-o. I mean, I seriously am not one of those people who get all mental about getting old, wrinkly and eventually dead – I am afraid of Alzheimer’s, but six glasses of red wine per week is said to lower my risk of having to suffer from it by fifty percent, so I just have to learn to like red wine. (And how to avoid alcoholism.) Anyway, my point is, I don’t freak out about getting older, not really, but I do freak out over all the stuff I still haven’t experienced and that I really, really, to the depths of my soul feel I have to get to do before I go. A sample can be found here. […]

  3. […] plays since then, but haven’t tackled all of them, and since this is one of the wishes on my 30 Before 30 list, I’ve decided to dive into the task, starting with the first and ending with the […]

  4. […] coat in the most wonderful red EVER (which would totally take care of one of my things to do on my 30 Before 30, btw), I’m going to have to be […]

Leave a Reply

 
