Sickness, you bore!


I hate having a cold. I hate it to the very core of me. I hate the icky little virus that crawls into my bloodstream and wreaks total havoc with my poor immune system. I hate having a cough that makes me feel like I’m about to faint from oxygen depravation, literally choking on the tiny aliens agitating my insides, blooming into my chest and making me feel as though it’s been years and years since I could breathe properly.

Oh, hallowed be the Ipren (Swedish aspirin), the Alvedon (same thing, pretty much) and the nasal spray that allows me to at least breathe through my nose when the tickling sensation in my throat gets to be too much to bear. Because I cough. And cough and cough and freaking cough until I think there’s no possible way I’ll survive this one.

I. Detest. Being. Sick.

The only brightness in it all, the light in the tunnel, is the fact that ice-cream helps calm the tickle even better than the nasal spray and the fact that I’m feeble and sickly takes away the guilt at stuffing my face with deliciousness and not going out for a one-hour walk afterwards.

Oh yeah!

~ by mescribe on August 26, 2010.

2 Responses to “Sickness, you bore!”

  1. I hope you’re feeling better!

    I need that cat…and that sno-cone.

    • Thanks, am feeling much better! Was thinking it was going to be one of those annoying summer colds that doesn’t let up until Christmas, but – knock on wood – I think it’s retreating into its corner, thank all that is Good.

      The cat is awesome. So is the cone.

Leave a Reply

 
