Word of the Week: Cockshut


Cockshut time is the twilight of evening.

(Source: http://www.worldwidewords.com)

_______________________Use In a Sentence___________________

“Look, Grandma! Isn’t the sky beautiful?”

“Yes, dear one. Did you know that this time of day is called twilight?”

“Bees-wax, don’t you be telling your granddaughter tales, Mary.”

“Hi, Grandpa.”

“Whatever do you mean I’m telling her tales, Bernard?”

“It’s cockshut time, you know it as well as I.”

After a momentary pause.

“Grandma, Grandpa said a bad word.”

“No, I did not, child! Cockshut is the same as twilight, see, but it’s a better word for it. It sounds more like the end of a hard days work.”

“You haven’t done hard labor in nearly twenty years.”

“Fiddle-sticks, Mary, I’m trying to tell the girl — Where’d she go?”

“Tommy, Tommy, I’ve learned a new word!”

“Well, Bernard, that should be interesting in kindergarten on Monday.”

“Don’t tell Nancy it was me.”

“Why ever not? I’m sure if you explain to her your preference of the word she’ll understand.”

“Oh, shush.”

_________________________________________________________

Don’t know about you, but I think I still prefer Twilight (in spite of nightmarish associations.) 😉

~ by mescribe on September 22, 2010.

6 Responses to “Word of the Week: Cockshut”

  1. LOVE it. The word worries me a bit but I love the story. Fiddle-sticks Mary. Fantastic!

    • Thanks Mairzeebp! 🙂 I agree, this might not be a word you throw around lightly, but if someone’s bullying your child/your niece/your nephew/your best friend’s innocent little angel, you can secretly teach the bully this word and he or she will most probably get into trouble. Eeeeviiiilllll. 🙂

      x

  2. I’m going to have to say I prefer twilight as well. Although I think I’ll need to say it at least once.

  3. Stephanie Myers threw around the idea of Cockshut for her glampire series, but eventually settled on Twilight instead. I think she really missed the boat. If she’d went with Cockshut, those books might have gone somewhere.

    Liked the post in dialogue idea. Funny stuff. I’ve seen enough; I’m signing up.

    Chase McFadden

    http://SomeSpeciesEatTheirYoung.com

    • Oh my goodness, I can just imagine a whole generation of tweens worshipping something christened Cockshut by a mormon writer. Now, that would have somehow made more sense! Glad you enjoyed! And welcome into the snow. 😉

      Sincerely etc.

Leave a Reply

 
