Back2School 101


I am almost twenty-eight. For nine years I was stubbornly telling myself and anyone who brought the S-subject up that I didn’t need to Go Back, I was moving forward, damn it! I told myself and Them that “What I want to do is a practical profession and that the people who study it have to begin at the bottom of the food chain anyway, so what’s the use in taking a huge loan to study and learn things that I can learn just as well, if not better, by practicing them?”

Yeah. Right.

With a degree in your pocket you’re still much more likely to get in a position to show your eagerness to be a part of the food chain – and not just being consigned to stand outside in the rain, looking at all those people on the other side of the glass, chowing away. A degree is – if nothing else – proof that you have been willing to spend time learning the subject you claim to be so passionate about.

So, last fall I was told that I was out of a job (more or less, long story) and that made something inside of me do that clicking noise which usually means change; at least for me. And I realized that I actually didn’t abhor the S-word, I didn’t feel like the burden of debt would be too much to bear and most of all I felt an overwhelming need to actually take a step toward using my time productively in every single aspect of my life, using it to build something that would help me realize my dream of working with writing in a creative way and earning money off of it.

Boo-yeah! School rocks!

Oh, that’s current me making the above statement.

School is the funnest time I’ve had almost ever. I say almost because I really did enjoy that first time I graduated and the first time I took a long trip by myself and the first time I saw the view from the top of the Empire State Building and the first time I kissed a boy. Anyway.

School is this:

  • Meeting people interested in the same things as me
  • Writing all day, every day
  • Finishing projects (time constraints has always been a whale-huge issue before.)
  • Having time to stare into walls because of the excess of time now on my hands (big part of writing, I’m sure you know, so it’s totally legit)
  • Feeling overly-confident about the future (because with so much time and purpose how could it not work out exactly how I want it to)
  • That last parenthesis was rhetorical. Just so you know.

I love school. And is she studying a language, Creative Writing or philosophy, you wonder? Perhaps I’m getting a Masters in agriculture because I really, really, really want to write a book about a girl who gets her Masters in agriculture.

Nah.

~ by mescribe on October 3, 2010.

4 Responses to “Back2School 101”

  1. Congrats to you!! I would love to go back to school myself and once I get this new job underway, I start tomorrow, I believe I will begin to take classes at night. Isn’t it great when something happens in your life that inspires change and kind of wakes you up?? It’s great to see how optimistic you are about your future…it’s the best attitude to have as I believe the universe fulfills what you believe! I have no doubt you will turn writing into something where you are gainfully employed, moving people with your words….

    I’m so happy I am along for the ride! This post made me feel even more hopeful than I already do about my own future. Thank you for that. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks mairzeebp! πŸ™‚ I’m ever so glad that I could send some hope your way, that is awesomeness wrapped in a bow. It is totally great when something happens in your life to wake you up – it was exactly what I needed. I mean, you can talk the talk when you have a steady salary, but it always sounds like this “Tomorrow I’ll do this and then next week I’ll do this”. But now the circumstances united to push me into action so even though my employer sort of screwed me, I’m still grateful for it!

      Ohhh, new job, huh? Must now go check out your blog and see what I’ve missed. And I’m curious what type of night classes you would like to take, too. πŸ™‚

      All my best!

  2. Congrats on going back to school! I have my masters, but for some reason, I feel like I always end up making time to go back and take a random class anyways.

Leave a Reply

 
