Word of the Week: Obnubilate


Obnubilate, to darken, dim, cloud over, or obscure.

(Source: http://www.worldwidewords.org)

______________________Use In a Sentence_____________________

“And so it was that the highway man, in the cover of Night, could escape the place where he had committed his terrible deed. This was not something Night was proud of, but as it obnubilates all without–”

“What’s nooblate mean?”

“Well, nighttime is dark, with lots of shadows, right?”

“Yeah.”

“That’s what it means. Now listen to the story, it’s almost time to go to sleep. Where was I…? Oh. Night wasn’t proud, but as it obnubilates all without having an actual say in it, having to adhere to the setting Sun, sleepy after a hard days work, it could only turn to its one ally: the Moon. But the Moon was nowhere to be seen.”

“It’d been noomilated, too!”

“Obnubilated.”

“Opnulibated.”

“Do you want me to finish the story?”

“If the moon’d been olunipated, then I’d turn on all the lights in the house.”

“But Night doesn’t have a house. Night lives outside.”

“It’s always dark at night.”

“That’s right. So what do you think Night should do, if he doesn’t have any lights to turn on–”

“Is it Christmas?”

“Good question.”

“‘Cause if it was and I was Night I’d go to the Henderson’s house ’cause they always have tons of decorations all over. Mom says it’s totally tacky.”

“She does, huh?”

“Yeah.”

“You need to sit down, young man.”

“But, dad!”

“Five minutes till lights out. Want me to finish the chapter? … Good. Now. Night searched the heavens and finally found the Moon, her face obscured by the darkness of the universe surrounding her.

“When Night asked her why she didn’t hear his pleas for help, she answered that he needed to speak to her sister, the Sun. For some reason she had chosen not to warm the Moon into a glow that night, and the Moon was too far away from her to be able to hear her reason. ‘But if I look into the Sun I will die,’ said Night with a troubled expression as he turned his eyes back down on the world and watched as the highway man reached the sleeping village of Aramel.”

“Wait! Don’t stop already, it’s only, like, six-thirty!”

“It’s closer to, like, eight, actually.”

“Dad!”

“John! Time to sleep, buddy. Kisses.”

They kiss.

“Hugs.”

They hug.

“You’re gonna finish the whole book tomorrow.”

“I am, am I?”

“Yeah. Dad?”

“Yes?”

“Night’s a good guy, right?”

“Yes, he is. He wants to watch over the people in the village.”

“Maybe I could try sleeping without a nightlight. It might hurt his eyes if I keep it on all night long, don’t you think?”

“I do think.”

“Just want to try.”

“Of course.”

He unplugs the light.

“Total oloomination.”

Dad laughs softly, kisses his son atop his head and gently closes the door.

______________________________________________________

I love this word. I think it’s fantastic. It sounds so obscure that pulling a dark blind in front of someone’s eyes gets a whole new meaning. I’ll obnubilate your ass if you’re not careful.

~ by mescribe on October 13, 2010.

4 Responses to “Word of the Week: Obnubilate”

  1. I don’t think that a threat has ever sounded so sophisticated. Brilliant.

    You’re writing is so fluent. I’m envious.

    Did you come up with the whole Night/Day/Sun/Moon story that the dad is reading? That is amazing. Makes the stories I try to come up with for my kids about trick-or-treating on our neighbor’s pony seem pretty weak.

    Awesome.

    • I’m all about the sophistication, for sure.

      I did come up with the whole Night/Day/Sun/Moon story and thank you for the compliments of this comment, they were delicious. šŸ™‚ Do I compliment back or just leave it at that? Oh, you know I think you’re awesome, otherwise I wouldn’t be returning to read your posts, now would I? šŸ˜‰

  2. LOVED it. Absolutely LOVED it. I was endeared to the son, wanted the dad to finish the story and thought about my own relationship with my childhood nightlight (that was left on way longer than I guess it should have been but, damn that ET, he was scary way back then). I truly enjoy reading your stuff.

    • Hey you! Thanks so much for your absolutely warming comments, my friend, makes me feel like a complete fuzzball inside. Lovely! Sorry about the late reply.

      Hugs to you!

Leave a Reply

 
