Correspondence with Mr. Perfect


This is what I’ve been dealing with the past month – trust me, it’s been a roller-coaster ride of ugly emotion, but it was worth it. A weight has been lifted. Anyway, just thought I’d share it with you guys. All my best!

__________________________________________________________

November 2nd, 2010

Dear Mr. Perfect,

You are a liar. You told me you would be there for me, you told me you would never let me down, you even told me I was one of the most important people in your life – what a joke. And it’s on me, which makes it all the better. I can’t believe I bought into what you were selling, even when I knew it was just a load of complete and utter crap! I guess you were a lesson I had to be taught. Well, I can see through you, now, and I won’t listen to you anymore. Leave me alone.

Sincerely.

November 3rd, 2010.

Dear Ms. Sucker,

I’m very sorry that you’re so upset, I never meant to harm you in any way and I can tell that you’re hurting over this whole situation. Believe me when I tell you that if I could undo whatever it is I’ve done to you, I would. You’re wrong when you say that what I’ve assured you up until now has been nothing but deceit and lies – of course I care about you, how could I not? You keep me alive. Remember all those evenings we’ve shared together, all those dreams – please, I need you. Don’t give up on me.

With love. Truly.

November 10th, 2010.

Dear Mr. Hypocrite,

I didn’t want to reply, but I can’t not tell you how angry you make me. You make me furious, you self-righteous, self-absorbed, selfish idiot! Don’t tell me you care about me when we both know that you’re just trying to make me hold onto you, and I can’t do that anymore, okay? You’re an illusion. And yes, we’ve had some good times, but you don’t keep me warm, you can’t hold my hand and you’re not there when I need you because that’s what you want, but because it’s what I want. I’m done. Truly.

Goodbye.

November 10th, 2010.

Dear Ms. Kettle,

I am going to be the Pot in this little scenario and tell you that you’re calling me a hypocrite when really you’re the one who is writing a farewell to someone who has no choice but to reply. If you hadn’t picked up a pen in the first place, you wouldn’t have heard back from me at all. It isn’t me clinging to you, but you clinging to me. I like it, don’t get me wrong, but stop making excuses for yourself, blaming all of this on me. You have to let me go first, you know, and I’m very hard not to have around. Just imagine how empty it will be with no one there at all. Won’t you feel lonely being completely alone?

Regards.

November 17th, 2010.

Dear Mr. Smartypants,

You’re right. I will feel lonely, probably; and it is me not being able to let you go. You’re an idea, most ideas linger with me. You know, when I met you I thought the feeling in my heart couldn’t be steering me wrong, I couldn’t feel that way for no reason, but now I know that you really only live in my head, and that’s a scary thought so maybe that’s part of why I’m having such trouble facing the fact that it’s over. I’d actually like to thank you for these past years. It was the best of times, it was the worst of times.

Take care.

November 22nd, 2010.

Dear Ms. Dreamy,

I’m surprised that you are actually going through with this, but I suppose it couldn’t last forever. I suppose it shouldn’t, that it never was meant to. ‘Cause that would make you a mental case. Are you sure I can’t change your mind? You are my one and only true friend, you know. You always listen to me, you never judge me, you think I’m perfect just the way I am… Well. I hope you find what you’re looking for.

Respectfully.

November 29th, 2010.

Dear Mr,

Don’t reply to this note, I simply wanted to say that it’s been a privilege and I’ll try not to look for you in any other man for the rest of my life because I know that will only break my heart. You have been fantasmic and no one can ever take that away from you. And don’t go haunting my dreams now, you hear!

xxx

 

~ by mescribe on December 10, 2010.

4 Responses to “Correspondence with Mr. Perfect”

  1. Whoa…sounds like you’ve been through quite a bit this last month.

    I’m glad you’re doing better now! And I’m happy you’re back!

    • Thanks, hon! Yeah, I just realized this past month that it was time to get rid of old ghosts. 🙂 Also, completely awestruck by you that you’ve had a wolf in your lap. Way to cross those things off your list, girl! x

  2. Guys are jerks. Ok, wait, that’s not really fair. Some people can be jerks. The worst are those that are self involved and he sounds like he operates in a world that revolves around him.

    I’m sorry to hear that things didn’t go well but believe better things await you. They must because I think you’re fabulous.

    • Hello, my dear! Sorry for my extremely late reply, I have no excuse. Yes, this guy was a semi-jerk because he’s a good guy at heart – he’s not only someone I cared for in That Way, but also a friend – and I let him string me along, you know? But yeah, he’s a jerk for the stringing me along. 🙂 Things are much better now, since I cut the string clean off. And that is the nicest thing ever, darling, I think you’re fabulous too!

Leave a Reply

 
