Holy Flaming Candles, Batman!


It’s my 28th birthday coming your way!

I can’t believe I’m actually two years away from the big 3-o. I mean, I seriously am not one of those people who get all mental about getting old, wrinkly and eventually dead – I am afraid of Alzheimer’s, but six glasses of red wine per week is said to lower my risk of having to suffer from it by fifty percent, so I just have to learn to like red wine. (And how to avoid alcoholism.) Anyway, my point is, I don’t freak out about getting older, not really, but I do freak out over all the stuff I still haven’t experienced and that I really, really, to the depths of my soul feel I have to get to do before I go. A sample can be found here.

Time is speeding up. These past few years have gone by crazy quick and it’s sort of freaky to me, but I am very happy about my 27th year and all the stuff I’ve gotten to do, like:

  • Quitting a deadbeat job
  • Going back to school
  • Meeting a bunch of inspiring people
  • Starting this blog
  • Finding Alex Day on YouTube
  • Actually making Christmas candy all by myself (Pics to be posted. They’re awesome.)
  • Trying to scratch things off my 30 Before 30 (not always succeeding)
  • Getting a Great New Job

About the G.N.J: I am absolutely over the moon about getting a job offer from my cousin’s wife who was just hired as store manager for a clothing shop located in the nearest mall to where I live (about six miles away). It’s just one of those We’ll Call You When Someone’s Sick positions at the moment, but I’ll have a job for the summer for sure and that is delicious in how it just soothes away all the anxiety that was already beginning to tease my intestines into squirming unpleasantly in my stomach. I mean, what would happen to me in the summer without a job? Well, I’d:

  • Starve
  • Loose My Apartment a.k.a Get Kicked Out On the Street (though my parents are close by so I guess I could always go there… at twenty-eight. To live. No.)
  • Give up on my Dreams because of my delirious state brought on by Starvation
  • Go to Bolivia as a volunteer and immigrate into the wild to be One With Nature, never to be heard from by the civilized world again
  • Which would cause much grief and teeth-gnashing and hair-tearing
  • You know it would

As you can clearly tell, it would have been a disaster; but this New Shiny Job has saved me from all of this heartache and the life of a nomad. Phew. (New Shiny Job is the same as New Great Job. Just to clarify.)

You know, I like getting older because I do think with every year you get a little bit wiser and the mistakes (and I’ve made a few) that have been made have (hopefully) been useful lessons of what NOT to do when confronted by a banchee in a dark, anonymous woodland somewhere to the East of Little Big Horn. Or was that just a dream? In any case, wisdom is a pretty nice commodity to be granted by the ever fleeting time, I would say. Something to prove that, hey, that year didn’t just disappear or slip away or get misused: it actually amounted to something.

Biggest lesson learned this year? Make Now your best friend because Then is gone and Later is never around when you need him.

Love from me.

 

~ by mescribe on December 21, 2010.

4 Responses to “Holy Flaming Candles, Batman!”

  1. Happy Birthday and congrats on the new shiny job!

    Any word on the lion, sharks, or Italian?

    • Thank you, Thoughts! And like I said to Mairzee – I know it’s late, but the thank you has all the happiness of having seen it on the 22nd of December! πŸ™‚

      I am soooo still hoping for Africa next year, but it all depends on money and as I’m completely broke at the moment… well. πŸ™‚ The Italian might be something to start up this summer or in the fall, if I don’t have too much of other things going on. I’m hoping I’ll get to shoot a short this summer, but it’s all up in the air, as of yet.

      I’m off to read your blog now! πŸ™‚

  2. Well holy moly, happy birthday sister!! And many congrats on the shiny new job. It seems that you have had quite a year and you’re right, wisdom is a pretty fantastic thing. I try to remember that when I look back at my year and am tempted to whine about what I don’t have. I know, I know, my pessimism has gots to go :).

    This year, when I look back, I will be looking right at my blog and thanking it out loud for helping me find my voice and some wonderful people who have often times given me a new perspective on things. One of those people, is you so, give yourself a big birthday hug for me and know that if I was there, I would take you out for a celebratory night on the town to give you the credit you deserve for being so kick ass :).

    • Thank you so much, girl! I know this is a month late, but I still mean it with all the warmth I would have meant it had I answered on the very day you posted. πŸ™‚

      Haha, pessimism is the Enemy! I’m so glad you’re out there blogging, my friend, truly, I am! Every time I read your posts I get inspired! And that’s where I’m off to now, actually – to catch up. πŸ™‚

      You’re lovely, dearie, thanks so much for the possibility of a celebratory night. We’ll have to do that someday! πŸ™‚ xxx

Leave a Reply

 
