Word of the Week: Skulduggery


Skulduggery, underhanded or unscrupulous behavior; trickery.

(Source: worldwidewords.org)

______________________Use In a Sentence_______________________

“Well, my dad’s brother is a airplane driver. He sits behind the… and makes it go where he wants it in the sky.”

“What, like, to the stars?”

“Yeah, to the stars!”

“Yeah, right.”

“My mom’s… my ant can lift stuff much bigger than her. ‘Cause ants are really strong.”

“You’re so stupid.”

“Are not!”

“So you got someone cool in your family, if you think you’re so cool?”

“Yeah, I do.”

“Like what?”

“Like who, you moron. My brother.”

“What about him?”

“I heard my mom say to my dad that he likes skull-digging.”

“Whaaat? What’s that?”

“Digging for skulls, you dope, whattaya think?”

“Like… dead heads? Like… chopped off?”

“Well, duh, what else would it mean? Alive heads buried in the woods?”

The woods?”

The smaller children are now in total awe, breathlessly staring at the seven-year old.

“He goes out there all by himself in the woods at night with the wolves and bobcats?”

“Well, I don’t know about the wolves and bobcats, but the ghosts and goblins and vampires.”

Vampires?!”

“Alright, Kev, that’s enough.”

“But, mom, I was just…”

“Yeah, I could hear what you were just. Go do your homework, please.”

“Do I gotta?”

“Yeah, you gotta.”

“Is there vampires, Mrs. G?”

“No, sweetie, there are no vampires. And Derek doesn’t go digging for skulls in the woods, I promise. Kevin heard a word that just sounds like skull-digging. It just meant that I’m afraid that Derek might get himself into trouble if he doesn’t… Never mind.”

“What’s the word?”

“Sorry, love?”

“What’s the word that isn’t digging for skulls?”

“Skulduggery.”

“Sulkuggery.”

“….Yes, something like that. Now, don’t be afraid of ghosts or goblins, either, okay? There are no such things.”

“Except on Halloween. Derek said.”

“I suppose I’ll have to have a talk with Derek next.”

“Suckuggery.”

“Hey, let’s play we’re going on a suck-ugh-ery mission!”

Yayyy! Suck-ugh-ery! Suck-ugh-ery! Suck-ugh-ery!”

___________________________________________________________

Know any people who engage in skulduggery excursions after nightfall? I don’t… Well, at least I think I don’t. Have you ever stolen anything in your life? I shoplifted a candy-bar once or twice in my youth, but in my defense it was under peer pressure. 🙂

~ by mescribe on January 24, 2011.

4 Responses to “Word of the Week: Skulduggery”

  1. Ooooo…I like this word!

  2. Love the stories you paint around the words. Another goodie sister! I have trouble saying this one though. It doesn’t quite roll off the tongue. It might be because I’m home from work today and have had a bit more sugar than I should have…hmm…I’ll have to try it tomorrow when I’ve come down off of my sugar cloud :).

    • Thanks, lovey! 🙂 Haha, that sugar high is a serious danger to the clear thinking mojo in your head, I totally get it. Is why I’m trying so hard to get rid of the addiction to it. ;P I’ll be sailing the clouds in due time, but with a safety harness where I am in complete control of when and how I land – instead of always crashing. Hahaha. Am I in the mood for chocolate right now? You bet your ass! It’s Saturday, for crying out loud! 🙂

      xxx

Leave a Reply

 
