Honoring the Bard


Thanksgiving 2001 I bought a beautiful, leather-bound collection of Shakespeare’s complete works at Barnes and Noble. I’ve read a few of the plays since then, but haven’t tackled all of them, and since this is one of the wishes on my 30 Before 30 list, I’ve decided to dive into the task, starting with the first and ending with the last.

Am I loving the war amongst the nobles and kings? Not with a passion, no, but it is interesting that Will incorporated Joan of Arc into Henry the Sixth – I had no idea. It was intriguing to see him demonize her, in the way of a true Englishman, instead of all these movies nowadays that play off of her sainthood.

Here is the List, in the order they are to be crossed out:

The Plays

  • The First Part of King Henry the Sixth
  • The Second Part of King Henry the Sixth
  • The Third Part of King Henry the Sixth
  • King Richard the Third
  • Titus Andronicus
  • The Comedy of Errors
  • The Two Gentlemen of Verona
  • Love’s Labour’s Lost
  • Romeo and Juliet
  • A Midsummer Night’s Dream
  • King John
  • The Taming of the Shrew
  • King Richard the Second
  • The Merchant of Venice
  • The First Part of King Henry the Fourth
  • The Second Part of King Henry the Fourth
  • King Henry the Fifth
  • Much Ado About Nothing
  • The Merry Wives of Windsor
  • Julius Ceasar
  • As You Like It
  • Twelfth Night; Or, What You Will
  • Hamlet, Prince of Denmark
  • Troilus and Cressida
  • All’s Well that End’s Well
  • Measure for Measure
  • Othello, the Moor of Venice
  • Macbeth
  • King Lear
  • Antony and Cleopatra
  • Coriolanus
  • Timon of Athens
  • Pericles
  • Cymbeline
  • The Winter’s Tale
  • The Tempest
  • King Henry the Eighth

The Poems

  • Venus and Adonis
  • Lucrece
  • Sonnets
  • A Lover’s Complaint
  • The Passionate Pilgrim
  • Sonnets to Sundry Notes of Music
  • The Phoenix and Turtle
~ by mescribe on January 30, 2011.

2 Responses to “Honoring the Bard”

  1. Wow, what a task! I just counted, and I’ve only read 15 of them.

    • Only fifteen? Better get cracking!

      Just kidding – fifteen is a LOT, girl! I’ve read… three, I think, before this, but I’m reading them again. I remember starting Hamlet when the book was new, but I don’t think I finished. In Henry the Sixth part Two I’ve already spotted two common expressions: tender loving care and bee’s wax. I’m guessing they might be stemming from here because so many of expressions come from Shakespeare. It’s pretty damn amazing, to be honest. What a legacy the man left behind!

Leave a Reply

 
