If You Were a Disney Character…


…who would you be?

I know, I know, it’s not ever as easy as all that. Life is not as easily compartmentalized as “I am”, because one day you might feel like you have Arabic descent and want nothing more than to be free as a bird and another day you may feel like you have a fishtail and want nothing more than to be free as a bird… Hmh. Okay, bad example (freedom is a constitutional right, after all), but I think you get the gist of it.

So, let’s play a game of Make Believe.

For as long as I can remember I’ve loved this game. (I still do it frequently, as this post will prove.)

Let’s Make Believe that life is a cartoon and you get to play the leading part: which Disney movie would you choose to star in? Give it some real thought, now, it ain’t like choosing a career or the name of your firstborn or what socks to wear today – this is a serious question.

Oh, and to clarify – if you’re a girl and you’d like to be Hercules, that’s totally cool. I would love a motivation for it, though, because I think it’d make an interesting read. If you’re a girl and you’d like to be Esmeralda (who isn’t technically the lead of The Ringer), that’s cool, too; and that goes for all you boys out there, too – you want to be Cinderella, be Cinderella! Again, would love your motivation. Actually, whatever your choice, I would LOVE your motivation for choosing that character.

This is me:

all rights Disney

Yeah, I don’t look anything like that, but here are the similarities:

  • She’s very environmentally aware (apart from not knowing what gold is), which I also strive to be. Recycle, recycle, recycle is my motto.
  • She’s curious about other cultures – totally me. I love to travel and learn new languages. Have never learned one as quickly as she, though. (Also, keep in mind that the language she learns is every language she’s translated into. Mind blowing, I know.)
  • She seems to like to run and be active, goes canoeing, jumps off cliffs and goes for a swim, that kind of stuff. I’m very active. Or I’ve been reactivating myself this past year. Have yet to dive off a cliff, though. Scared of the neck breakage…
  • She sings all. the. time. I do, too, especially around children and then often songs I’ve learned from her – go figure! But I do like to sing to myself as well, and hum in public sometimes, which disgruntles me because I’ve heard other people who are strangers hum in public to themselves and it always makes me label them “Crazy Weirdo” in a high pitched way in my head. Which is not a good thing to be a part of.
  • She’s stealthily catlike, the way she sneaks around. That’s me. Oh, yeah.
  • She’s fiercely independent.
  • She has to wave goodbye to the love of her life, which seems to be all I’m ever doing. Okay, not perhaps the loves of my life, but the possibility of a love of my life. They come, they smile, there’s hope, they’re gone. I mean, seriously!
So, even though I chose a character who doesn’t end up with her Prince Charming (even in the sequel. WTF, Disney ending?!) I still feel uplifted by the cartoon world today and I know that Pocahontas (ignoring the sequel completely now because it sucked Looney Toon ass) is a strong character and a strong woman and she moved on to lead her people and plow fields and plant corn and build a peaceful relationship with the palefaces. That’s me. Oh, yeah.
~ by mescribe on October 28, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
