Stockholm Film Festival 2011


Yes! Tomorrow is the day I hop on a train and go to Stockholm for six days to attend the annual (international) film festival. It’s going to be awesome and I have a bunch of movies I’m excited to see, especially Martha, Marcy, May, Marlene; The Skin I Live In and Sleeping Beauty. Although, I have to say, it’s the festival spirit that’s fun to partake of, where people’s minds are on movies as a whole and you end up chatting with interesting strangers about film!

I’m going to stay at a hostel (oooh, no good movie-connections to be made to that word) in Old Town, which is, in my humble opinion, the prettiest part of Stockholm, so I’m very happy about that. Also, it’s central, which makes walking to the festival a breeze. On Friday I’ll be moving my knick-knacks to a good friend of mine’s, where I’ll stay until Monday when I traipse back to Γ–rebro. I’ve yet to see her and her man’s new apartment so yay, finally getting to do that!

And it’s going to be extremely nice to just get the hell out of dodge for a while. This fall has been crazy busy, especially with school, but also with the Filmclub and helping a good friend of mine shoot his short film. GAH, I have so much to do in December in preparation for next year that I don’t even want to think about it, especially regarding the Filmclub, which I’m now president of and which needs a complete makeover. No, I’m not kidding. And I have to get a hold of an entirely fresh board as none of the old members are able to stay on and I have to find a new place for us to house our movie viewings each month and I have to get a new website designed and up and running and… Sorry. Yeah. Getting the hell out of dodge will be a good, good thing.

I am bringing homework with me, though. πŸ™‚

I need a recharge and then I’ll be back, fresh-faced, kicked-in-the-groin, slapped-on-the-neck fantastic in a week, oh, yes, I will.

Until then – can you place this quote?

“I can only express puzzlement which borders on alarm.”

The one who gets it right gets to ask me anything and I swear I’ll answer it truthfully. If that’s even a prize. Okay, the one who gets it right gets to tell me to do anything and I swear I’ll do it. Apart from breaking anything in my body or anybody else’s body, hurting animals or offing somebody. (Yes, I think your minds are that dark.) πŸ™‚

 

~ by mescribe on November 14, 2011.

2 Responses to “Stockholm Film Festival 2011”

  1. I can’t wait to hear about the film festival. Hope you have a great time!

    • Thanks, Thoughts! I’ll be back with wild stories. Wild, I tell you, WILD! And if nothing wild happens, I’ll MAKE it happen, that is how dedicated a blogger I am.

      πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
