Christmas Cards: To Write or Not to Write?


Every year I ask myself the same question: Should I write a bunch of Christmas cards this year? Is there any point? Can’t I just write everyone on FB and wish them a ho-ho-ho and a happy slappy and that’s just as good? And especially good if you’re made of wood – i.e. a tree in the forest being cut down to be made into a Christmas card?

And every year I give myself the same patient reply:

  • Trees are not being murdered for your Christmas card sending – the paper is recycled
  • You love getting Christmas cards
  • You will not get any more Christmas cards unless you actually spend a few crowns and hours on sending that same love in an envelope to your friends and family
  • Not getting any more Christmas cards will make you sad
  • Sadness on Christmas is unacceptable
  • Especially when it’s over Christmas cards and you have a roof over your head and delicious Christmas food on the table!
  • So, choose some pretty Christmas cards at the shops and sit yo ass down and write a few lines of merry to your fellowman.

I can be very persuasive when I want to be.

So, I’m writing Christmas cards! How about you?

This coming Friday I am going to clean my apartment and decorate it for Christmas. It’s crazy that it’s beginning to look a lot like that time of year again, where the heck did this year go?!

Sunday is the first advent Sunday and all the shops decorate for Christmas and you walk around and have a look and watch the town Christmas lights and the big Christmas tree in the square get lit up. Magical, I tell you! No snow yet, though… We’ll see, maybe it’ll arrive for Christmas! Santa will bring it, if I ask him really nicely.

~ by mescribe on November 22, 2011.

4 Responses to “Christmas Cards: To Write or Not to Write?”

  1. I don’t think I will. I’ll send out a text.

  2. What exactly is a Happy Slappy? 🙂

  3. I’m ashamed to admit that I think I’m skipping this year. And by “skipping” I mean I’ve decided not to send any, but I’ll change my mind a few days before Christmas and work like a madwoman on them.

Leave a Reply

 
