New Year Resolutions


There comes a time in every bloggers life when they have to take a good, hard look at their Posting Track Record and either beam with pride or hide their face in shame. I had to do the latter before New Years as I once again had a month of barely any posts (even though, as every blogger probably has, I had every intention to be consistent and frequent).

I have been leaving this blog to its own devices – which, lets face it, are none if I’m not here to device them – for far too long now and I am ashamed before the six of you who actually subscribe to this blog (yeah, I got your number down) and also I am disappointed in my blogging self because the truth is I love to write, its my favorite thing in the world, so this blogging thing should be easy-peasy. And it is. It’s setting aside the time for it that has had me coming up lacking. Yes, I’m one of those incredibly busy people, believe it or not. Believe it!

Seriously, though – I have had one hell of a busy fall, but that’s no excuse. So, here are my New Years Resolutions (re:blog):

  1. No more excuses.
  2. Time-efficiency. Never leave for tomorrow what you can do today.
  3. Three posts a week, no exception. Yes, I am aiming to become a hell of a lot more consistent, like my friend Thoughts, who posts practically (if not always) every day or Whoopie, who posts at least once a week.
  4. Be a better reader. Try to catch up on what you miss in your fellow bloggers life when you’re not online!
  5. Find a cure for cancer.
  6. Disregard that 5th resolution – that one was stolen by my Dark Side from Madame Curies list. Don’t ask me why my Dark Side would want to save humanity from a crippling disease. My Dark Side also has a Light Side. It makes it more complex. Just go with it.

So, I aim to be a better blogger not only for you Wonderful Six, but for my own sake. I started this blog with the intention of actually building something that has to do with me as a person, but most importantly (because personality takes a back-seat to this) as a writer. Something that would reflect the way I think through the way I write might be a better way of putting it.

You can do anything if you put your mind to it. This will be my foremost mantra this year.

Also: It’s not what you can’t do, but what you try to do.

I hope your New Years was amazing – mine was spent in Helsinki and it was amazingly nice. Looking forward to sharing 2012 with you!

 

~ by mescribe on January 5, 2012.

3 Responses to “New Year Resolutions”

  1. I’m looking forward to more posts!

    Thank goodness you gave up on curing cancer. As awesome as that would be, it just wouldn’t leave enough time for blogging.

  2. Yes, I suppose it would tie up my time something awful and as terrible as it may sound and as noble as an endeavor it would have been for my Dark Side, I do believe I can’t function properly if I can’t write. So it is what it is.

  3. Sister, write if you want to, when the mood strikes you and if you feel so inclined, post it. The moment you give yourself the freedom to make this thing your own on your terms is the moment you’ll fall in love with it. And then maybe hate it when you’re sitting there staring at the screen typing one lame first sentence after another with nothing to go on…or is that just me?

    Enjoy yourself. I miss you of course but, I know you’ll be back…when you’re ready :).

Leave a Reply

 
