Don’t You Weep


I can no longer weep

for my tears have gone to sleep,

and I hear them softly sigh

Don’t you cry, don’t you cry.

I can no longer smile,

it was there, then grew too wide,

and so it had to fade

and to rest it has been laid.

I can no longer feel

for the feeling’s too unreal

and the day I dare to try

I will die, I will die.

I cannot hear my heart –

is it whole or blown apart?

Is it beating in my chest?

Maybe I should let it rest.

I can no longer run,

the shadows closing, there’s no sun.

All around me desert land.

I understand, I understand.

I can no longer breathe.

Something’s crushing from beneath.

Take these words, they’re yours to keep,

and don’t you weep, don’t you weep.

~ by mescribe on January 15, 2012.

2 Responses to “Don’t You Weep”

  1. I LOVE the way it ends. Love it.

Leave a Reply

 
