Read This Month


Some months I read like a maniac – others I don’t take the time to. This has been one of those months where I’ve felt inspired and I’ve been reading a few interesting titles. I thought, anyway. Here they are:

The Great Gatsby (F. Scott Fitzgerald, 1925): As a movie is coming out, starring Brad Pitt as Gatsby, as far as I’ve read, I simply had to read this book. I enjoyed it. It had an absolutely stunning language with descriptions that really made me feel a part of those great parties at Gatsby’s estate and the flavor of the twenties is so intoxicating to me. It seems like such a time of change and yet it’s somewhat overlooked, especially in the movies. There’s a subtle, homoerotic note to the male friendships in the novel, as seen through the eyes of it’s narrator – Nick Carraway – and as with The Picture of Dorian Gray I always find those small hints of something else underneath the surface intriguing. Perhaps it’s just me.

One Day (David Nicholls, 2009): I thought this was a lovely book. There was an incredible UST with the unfulfilled love and the misunderstandings and the miscommunications. It was heart-wrenching, gut-churning, terribly, horribly wonderful. I’m looking forward to watching the movie. Sort of.

The Hunger Games Trilogy (Suzanne Collins, 2008-2010): I’m still sort of letting these books simmer in the back of my head. I really enjoyed reading the first book, I thought the second book was good and then the third one was just not told from the viewpoint that would have given me the most satisfaction, even though I thought the ending fitted the series and was quite moving. I though, perhaps, Ms. Collins got a little too hung up on the reality TV theme when I felt she could have eased up a bit in the third book, but then the ending wouldn’t have been as fitting as it is now, so… Yeah, I’m letting it simmer. Very good reads, either way, and highly recommended.

The Pillars of the Earth: I’ve only just started and am a little ways into the first chapters. I saw the BBC mini-series and simply wanted to get a closer look at the world and the characters. So far it’s not disappointing me.

Att Springa (To Run): This was a very sad, dark look at what really goes on in picture-perfect suburbia. It tells the tale of two young girls who are best friends and are just starting 7th grade, which means all sorts of changes. The biggest changes take place outside of school, though, as the underlying tone of violation in one home is highlighted by the love and companionship in the other. It was a good read, but not if you’re looking for a book that makes you smile on a Sunday morning.

I realize I’ve had a month of movie-driven reading, which amuses me. I’m really curious to see how The Hunger Games will translate on film, but I feel that it’s almost as though the part was written for Jennifer Lawrence – she will kick ass as Katniss – so I’m not worried about her performance in the lead. I didn’t think the Capitol was described in a way that’s simple to make into something intriguing – it felt very early nineties electro-pop to me – but we’ll see. I’m sure they’ll make something wonderful of all those bright colors and spiky hair. 🙂

~ by mescribe on January 23, 2012.

2 Responses to “Read This Month”

  1. I go through spurts with my reading, too. I really want to read The Hunger Games. I’ve heard all good things about it.

    • Oh, yes, I do recommend the trilogy, it really is a good read. And Katniss is a really cool and layered character, which I like! 🙂 Read anything good lately? x

Leave a Reply

 
