Watched This Month


TV-series

Legend of the Seeker S2: It started off annoyingly slow and the fact that my hero and one of the prettiest, loveliest, most naturally beautiful women EVER whom I was incredibly inspired by in the first season – namely Bridget Regan aka Kahlan – now seemed to have had stuff injected into her lips made me depressed and put me off the show completely. I know, kind of silly, but I could totally see her as this character I’ve had in my head for nearly a decade and then, when she went and did that, I just lost my leading lady. 🙂 Anyway, I enjoy Craig Horner and I still loved them together and the season picked up. The ending was awesome.

Prime Suspect (The Last Witness and first episode A Price to Pay): Helen Mirren. Mark Strong. Ben Miles. Need I say more? The first episode of this renowned series that I’ve seen and yes, I did enjoy it very much. It’s crime as intelligent drama and it’s wonderful.

Den Som Draeber (Those Who Kill): The Danes sure know how to write good TV-crime and dramas and this is no exception. I don’t know how they do it, how they get their standard just that much higher than us Swedes – because I’ll willingly admit we usually suh-huck at it – but they do and it’s awesome.

Sherlock S2: This show is the most brilliant rendition of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson since… Well, since Jeremy Brett’s era. If you’re looking at the TV contribution of Sherlocks, that is. Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law can’t be beat when it comes to the big screen. Benedict Cumberbatch is such a brilliant Sherlock it almost hurts my head to watch him, and Martin Freeman as Watson is unbelievably awesome. Put them together and you have a wow-factor that shines as brightly as a billion stars. And that’s a lot of stars. I LOVE IT. Also, Andrew Scott is the wickedest Moriarty E.V.E.R.

Films

17 Again: I adore this movie. I was pleasantly surprised by Zac High School Forever Efron and his comic timing and the feeling persists no matter how many times I see it. The fact that the surrounding cast is excellent and the writing is lovely only makes for a really funny movie experience. See it, if you haven’t already.

Death at a Funeral (original UK version): Alright, yes, [SPOILER] tying up a little person and gagging him while accidentally drugging him out of his mind doesn’t sound very nice, but it sure is funny. See it!

Curly Sue:This is one of those lovely 80’s classics. It’s an endearing and heartfelt story about a little girl living on the streets with Bill, played by James Belushi, and how they scam their way to food from strangers. One of these happen to be the successful lawyer Grey, played by Kelly Lynch. It’s a funny, warm and fuzzy story that is still very real and shows the hardships of being broke and caring for a child.

The Romantics: Katie Holmes, Josh Duhamel, Anna Paquin, Malin Akerman, Elijah Wood and the love of my life Adam Brody, amongst others, compete for screen time in this little gem of an indie movie. It’s set during the day and night before the wedding of Lila (Anna Paquin) and Tom (Josh Duhamel). The old college gang with which they both hung have arrived to attend and old emotions are beginning to flare up. It was a very nicely told, well-acted story of lost love, friendship and rivalry.

I Rymden Finns Inga Känslor (In SpaceThere Are No Emotions): When Sam’s girlfriend breaks up with him he becomes depressed. To cheer him up, and get things back to normal, his socially awkward brother Simon (Bill Skarsgård) decides to set out on a quest to find Sam a new, perfect, girlfriend. Struggling with his own Asperger Syndrome, the quest is more difficult than Simon first expected. This is one of the best Swedish films to come out of our industry in many years. It’s wonderfully funny, awkward and has a great, big, beating heart. I adore it.

The Crucible:

Friends With Benefits:

Crazy Stupid Love:

Oh, Brother, Where Art Thou:

~ by mescribe on February 9, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
